What Makes a Great Resume?

I have read many articles, seen many informational slide shows, and personally google searched the term “best resume ever” all in the hopes of using one piece of paper to secure an interview with my dream internship or a job on the side to ease the pain of being a poor college student.

A number of requirements are obvious: past experience, contact information, and at least one component that will make you stand out to a possible employer. For me I believe that my volunteer work with various organizations adds a little something to my resume. I am someone who doesn’t need incentive to want to go above and beyond in my work. My volunteer experience has provided me with extra event planning experience, social media design work, and immeasurable fullness of my own heart.

The problem that I think often occurs when creating a resume? Information overload. WAY too much color, flashy fonts, strange layouts…really there are a million problems that are easily avoided. I think the best bet with creating a perfect resume is sticking to showcasing your abilities in a creative way, without going overboard.

Leave a Reply

