PRSA New Pros | PRSSA – Career Day

Yesterday I had the privilege of sitting down with CEO’s, executives, and managers from Lucas Public Affairs, Insight Public Relations, Mering Carson, and the Sacramento Rivercats. As a graduating senior I found immense value in attending Career Day with members of my PRSSA Chapter and new professionals of the PRSA Chapter.

Our first stop of the day was Lucas Public Affairs in the heart of downtown Sacramento. In the conference room we were able to sit down with a fellow Sacramento State graduate and their Vice President, Justin Knighten. We discussed the differences in PR vs. PA and the importance of getting as much experience under your belt as possible through campaigns, volunteering and internships. I asked Justin to tell me his favorite publications, blogs, and journals to stay up to date on the industry. My love of writing coincides with an equal love of reading, so I had to!

Following Lucas Public Affairs our group headed to local bar and grill, Bar West, to enjoy a taco bar and continue our agency tours. At Bar West we had a luncheon session with CEO of Insight PR, Tim Harris. Tim is a Sacramento State graduate and started his own company. He stressed the importance of tenacity, and thinking big in the public relations industry. We also discussed the differences between earned and paid media.

The third stop on our tour was Mering Carson. Founded in 1985 by David Mering, a Sacramento State graduate, the company has worked with the NFL and on the Visit California campaign. Our group got to sit down with several members of the Mering Carson team to discuss what moves people (Mering Carson’s slogan is ‘We Move People”). The team showed us a presentation done by past interns launching a campaign project.

We ended our day with a tour of the Rivercats’ stadium, legacy club, and press box. We spoke with many team members and got a great view of public relations in house vs. an agency. I’m highly interested in finding out more about Cat Crew as an opportunity with the Rivercats.

I cannot stress the fear I have of graduating and searching for a position in my industry and then waitressing for longer than I’d ever dreamed. I want to engage with people, I want to put my ideas on paper in a room of like-minded thinkers, I want to build a network and a career. We’ll see what comes May 2017. I’m on the hustle for now.

The featured photo was taken in front of Mering Carson. I’m in the middle with my two sorority sisters and fellow PRSSA members, Katie Collopy and Savannah Stellini.

Processed with VSCO with k3 preset
Career Day

screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-2-14-02-pm

Leave a Reply

